• MARKETING GLOSSARY / B - C


  • TGM Designs has compiled this glossary of internet marketing and advertising terminology to help our clients to know and understand what services we provide. The terms cited are used regularly throughout online advertising and marketing. If you are preparing to start marketing or advertising your website these terms will prove to be very helpful. This glossary's intention is to be relevant and beneficial to your understanding rather than be comprehensive.

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    Badge

    A web banner dimension type. Used to refer to 125 x 125 pixels size or 120 x 60 pixels size. A 125 x 125 pixel banner is also referred to as a square banner, and a 120 x 60 pixel banner is also a type of button banner.

    Banner

    A graphic advertising image file or series of image files that are displayed on the Internet. Banners can be placed on a web page, an email, or a browser. Also see Banner Sizes.

    Banner Blocking

    A software option to either view, or turn off the ability to view, banners on web sites.

    Banner Exchange

    Individual web sites or groups of web sites who trade banners and links with each other.

    Banner Exchange Network

    A group of web sites who trade banners and links with each other. Space is made on your web site to display the group's banner and, in exchange, your baner is displayed on other member's sites. Banner exchanges on networks are usually free, but allow the least control of where you want your ad to be featured or what ads will be featured on your site.

    Banner Rotation

    Alternating more than one banner into purchased ad space or spaces over a set period of time.

    Barter

    The exchange of goods and services without the use of cash. The value of the barter is the dollar value of the goods and services being exchanged for advertising. This is a recognized form of revenue under GAAP (Generally Accepted Accounting Principles).

    Behavioral Targeting

    A technique used by online publishers and advertisers to increase the effectiveness of their campaigns. Behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual’s web browsing behavior such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made to select which advertisements to be displayed to that individual. Practitioners believe this helps them deliver their online advertisements to the users who are most likely to be influenced by them.

    Billboard

    A large banner, generally located at the top of a web page with the dimensions 745 x 90 pixels.

    Bonus impressions

    Additional ad impressions above the commitments outlined in the approved insertion order.

    Brand Awareness

    Research studies can associate ad effectiveness to measure the impact of online advertising on key branding metrics.

    Burnout

    When a banner's click through rate decreases over time. Measures the lasting power of a banner.

    Button

    A button is a type of graphic interent ad smaller than the traditional full-size ad banner. It is normally placed on the sides of the web pages or within suitable text. Two common button ad sizes are:

    120 x 90 pixels
    120 x 60 pixels

    Cache

    Memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed its delivery to the user. Caches can be local (i.e. on a browser) or on a network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (RAM), and disk (hard drive) cache.

    Cache busting

    The process by which sites or servers serve content or HTML in such a manner as to minimize or prevent browsers or proxies from serving content from their cache. This forces the user or proxy to fetch a fresh copy for each request. Among other reasons, cache busting is used to provide a more accurate count of the number of requests from users.

    Cached ad impressions

    The delivery of an advertisement to a browser from local cache or a proxy server’s cache. When a user requests a page that contains a cached ad, the ad is obtained from the cache and displayed.

    Caching

    The process of copying a web element (page or ad) for later reuse. On the web, this copying is normally done in two places: in the user's browser and on proxy servers. When a user makes a request for a web element, the browser looks into its own cache for the element; then a proxy, if any; followed by the intended server. Caching is done to reduce redundant network traffic, resulting in increased overall efficiency of the Internet.

    Call to Action banner

    A banner with some type of feature that is meant to generate an intended response by the viewer. A call to action could involve the choice of wording inside the banner or the end result of an animated piece. The intended result could be simply clicking on the banner, or it could involve a subscription, registration or purchase. A call-to-action banner is the opposite of a passive banner.

    Campaign

    A banner or group of banners displayed online which are measured together for their effectiveness.

    Click rate

    Ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions.

    Click

    Metric which measures the reaction of a user to an Internet ad. There are three types of clicks: click-throughs; in-unit clicks; and mouseovers
    The opportunity for a user to download another file by clicking on an advertisement, as recorded by the server
    The result of a measurable interaction with an advertisement or key word that links to the advertiser’s intended website or another page or frame within the website
    Metric which measures the reaction of a user to linked editorial content.

    Click Fraud

    A type of internet crime that occurs in pay per click online advertising when a person, automated script, or computer program imitates a legitimate user of a web browser clicking on an ad, for the purpose of generating a charge per click without having actual interest in the target of the ad's link.

    Click-stream

    1) the electronic path a user takes while navigating from site to site, and from page to page within a site; 2) a comprehensive body of data describing the sequence of activity between a user’s browser and any other Internet resource, such as a Web site or third party ad server.

    Click-through

    The action of following a link within an advertisement or editorial content to another Web site or another page or frame within the Web site. Ad click-throughs should be tracked and reported as a 302 redirect at the ad server and should filter out robotic activity.

    Click Through Rate

    Also known as CTR. This is the percentage of times a banner ad is clicked on out of the total number of ad views. For example, if a web page containing your ad is seen by 1,000 users and 20 clicks are made on the ad, the click-through rate is 5 percent.

    Click-To-Sales Ratio

    The amount of revenue generated directly from a banner's click-throughs divided by the actual number of click thrus. Sometimes referred to as a click-to-buy rate.

    Click-within

    Similar to click down or click. But more commonly, click-withins are ads that allow the user to “drill down” and click, while remaining in the advertisement, not leaving the site on which they are residing.

    Column Ad

    A banner ad that is more tall than it is wide, with the dimensions of 150 x 800 pixels. Commonly placed on the right side of a web pages. Column ads are also known as vertical or skyscraper banners.

    Content integration

    Advertising woven into editorial content or placed in a contextual envelope. Also known as "Web advertorial". Contextual Ads- Existing contextual ad engines deliver text and image ads to non-search content pages. Ads are matched to keywords extracted from content. Advertisers can leverage existing keyboard-based paid search campaigns and gain access to a larger audience.

    Conversion

    A desirable action that follows the initial click on a banner. This desirable action could be a sale, or a registration, or simply having the viewing go to a certain page on the site or staying on the site a certain amount of time.

    CPA (Cost-per-Action)

    Cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. "Actions" include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, or a click.

    CPC (Cost-per-Customer)

    The cost an advertiser pays to acquire a customer.

    CPC (Cost-per-click)

    Cost of advertising based on the number of clicks received

    CPL (Cost-per-lead)

    Cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads) received.

    CPM (Cost-per-thousand)

    Media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a Web site that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM of $15 ($1,500 divided by 100).

    CPO (Cost-per-Order)

    Cost of advertising based on the number of orders received. Also called CPT (Cost-per-Transaction).

    CPS (Cost-per-Sale)

    The advertiser's cost to generate one sales transaction. If this is being used in conjunction with a media buy, a cookie can be offered on the content site and read on the advertiser's site after the successful completion of an online sale.

    CPTM (Cost per Targeted Thousand Impressions)

    Implying that the audience one is trying to reach is defined by particular demographics or other specific characteristics, such as male golfers age 18-25.The difference between CPM and CPTM is that CPM is for gross impressions, while CPTM is for targeted impressions.

    Creative

    The graphic format of a banner. Determines if the banner is a GIF file, HTML file, or a type of rich media file.

    CRM

    Customer relationship management. Business practices that foster customer care, loyalty, and/or customer support.

     

    Source: http://www.iab.net

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